Connecticut DUI milford ctDrinking and driving can lead to disastrous consequences, and here in the state of Connecticut, we take driving under the influence seriously. Our laws are aimed at lowering the danger of being on the road, and keeping incapacitated drivers out from behind the wheel plays a significant role in this effort. This means that our state imposes strict penalties on those who are found to be operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol, prescription and over-the-counter medicines, and marijuana.

If you have been arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence, it is important to find the right attorney, and time is of the essence. With our team at The Law Office of Larracuente & Golden in Milford, CT, you can have the information that you need after an arrest. Our office understands the intricacies of Connecticut DUI laws, and we can help you to know your options at every step along the way. When you need legal counsel that you can rely upon, talk to our trusted team!

Every State Has Their Own DUI Laws

Connecticut has strict rules in place regarding driving while under the influence of drugs and alcohol. If you originally come from another state, or if you were just visiting Connecticut at the time of your arrest, then it is important to make sure that you fully understand how our laws operate. You may have questions, and your attorney can always help you to know more about the letter of the law.

In our state, you are deemed to be over the legal limit if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at the level of .08 or above. It is important to remember that for those under the age of 21, there is a different limit that effectively prevents minors from driving even after a single drink. The law stipulates that a .02 BAC is all that is required to meet the DUI threshold.

Connecticut DUI Penalties Can Be Stiff

Since driving under the influence can be dangerous, if not deadly, our state imposes serious penalties for those who have been found to have broken the law. It is important to know that you do not have the right to refuse a blood alcohol content test in our state, as well. By getting behind the wheel of a car, you have implied your consent to a reasonable search.

For a first-time DUI offender in Connecticut, a fine can range from $500-$1,000, with a significant community service requirement of up to 100 hours. Connecticut can also suspend your license, most often for 45 days following your arrest.

Learn More With Our Milford, CT Legal Team

If you have been arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence, take some time to find an attorney who can help you understand your next moves. To find out more about Connecticut DUI laws, give us a call at The Law Office of Larracuente & Goulden, LLC in Milford, CT at (203)951-6688 today.

filed under: DUI