Here in Connecticut, our courts take the subject of drinking and driving very seriously. With that comes strong penalties for driving under the influence in our state. This strict stance includes not only alcohol, but the use of prescription and over-the-counter medications, and even though marijuana is legal in Connecticut, impaired driving is a serious crime. In our state, the goal is to keep people off of the roads while they are in an altered state of mind, and if you wind up caught in the act, it can follow you for years to come.
Been arrested and charged with a DUI in the state of Connecticut? Talk to The Law Office of Larracuente & Golden in Milford, CT about your next steps. It is crucial to have a talented defense team that understands the ins and outs of the specific laws in our state in order to make the right decisions moving forward. A DUI in our state automatically triggers a suspension of your license, which can make it difficult for you to make it to work on time and even care for your kids. After your arrest, reach out to a trusted team of attorneys to learn more!
What Is The Definition of A Connecticut DUI?
Every state has a different set of laws regarding driving under the influence of alcohol and other mind-altering substances. This means that ours may differ from the drinking and driving laws that you may be familiar with if you are from or reside in another state.
In Connecticut, our laws state that you cannot legally operate a motor vehicle if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at the level of .08 or higher. For those under the legal drinking age, this number drops to .02 BAC, effectively preventing minors from drinking at all before they get behind the wheel.
Drinking And Driving Has Serious Ramifications
Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs can be very dangerous, and due to the risk, our state places strict penalties on this crime. For first-time offenders, the fine will range from anywhere between $500-$1,000, with up to 100 hours of community service or even jail time.
Our state also suspends your license automatically if you are arrested for a DUI. Unlike some other states, you do not have the right to refuse to take a sobriety test, as permission for this form of search is implied upon taking control of the vehicle. This is typically a 45-day suspension that starts 30 days after your arrest.
Been Arrested? Talk To Our Team!
If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI in Connecticut, it is important to find a legal team to help you through this process. To find out more, give us a call at The Law Office of Larracuente & Goulden, LLC in Milford, CT at (203)951-6688 today.